When you archive a chat on WhatsApp, you are going to hide a conversation from chats list. The chat log will still remain and you can still unarchive that logs. So the conversation will not be deleted at all. You will able to make the conversation visible whenever you want. So actually, nothing will happen except hiding the conversation. To make conversation visible again, you will need to do the following:
- Launch WhatsApp.
- Swipe down until you reach the bottom of chats lists.
- You will see “Archived Chats” on the list.
- Tap on “Archived Chats.
- You will see the conversation on the archived chats list.
- Tap and hold on the conversation (aka chat).
- Tap on “unarchive icon” or unarchive to recover the chat from archived chats.
That’s all you need to do for unarchive a conversation! We have already mentioned about this at our past guides. See: How to Hide a Chat on WhatsApp?
You don’t know what is archived messages, see our guide: What is Archived Chat on WhatsApp?
What Happens When You Archive a Chat on Whatsapp?
These things are going to happen when you archive a chat on the application:
- The conversation will be removed from the chats list at all.
- You will not see the chat on the main screen of the app now.
- When you archived a chat, your friend is not going to know it.
- No one will receive a notification when a chat archived.
- You will able to recover the archived chat from the archive with the steps above.
- You will receive messages when your friend want to contact you.
We also recommend you to check this guide for archived messages: How to Archive All WhatsApp Chats on iPhone
If you have any questions about this issue, you can comment this page and let us know about your question. Please feel free to ask us.