Can you Permanently Delete Messages on Whatsapp?



You can permanently delete messages on WhatsApp with two different ways. This depends if you backup your messages properly. This is how will you will delete your messages on WhatsApp permanently:

  • If you are getting backup of your messages, do the following:
    • Go to WhatsApp Messenger.
    • Tap on Menu (for Android, skip next step for iPhone)
    • Tap Settings.
    • Select Chats.
    • Tap on Chat History.
    • Delete all messages on your chats.
    • Double check that your message history clear.
    • Open iCloud or Google Drive.
    • Clean all backups related with WhatsApp.
  • If you are not getting backup of your messages, you can do steps above to delete messages:
    • Go to WhatsApp Messenger.
    • Tap on three dot menu of the application.
    • Select Settings from the menu on Android. Tap on Settings on the bottom menu of iPhone.
    • Select Chats.
    • Tap on Chat History.
    • Delete all your messages.

For more information on deleting backups on WhatsApp Messenger, you can check our guide: How to Delete Messages Backup

Chat Now


Advertisement


That is all you need to do for clearing messages. You can also reinstall WhatsApp alternatively. You can see more information about this on our guideline: How to Reinstall WhatsApp

If you would like to delete a single message for everyone on WhatsApp, you can see our iPhone and Android guide about that: How to Delete WhatsApp Messages for Everyone on Android and iPhone

Can you Permanently Delete Messages on Whatsapp?

Can you Permanently Delete Messages on Whatsapp?

According to Jonathan A. Zdziarski, you can’t delete messages permanently on WhatsApp Messenger. We recommend you to check our latest article on this issue on hereCan Whatsapp Messages be Traced after Deleted?

Zdziarski has already made some suggestions to developers of WhatsApp and already to WhatsApp users on his article about the privacy of the application. You can learn more about why your messages can’t be deleted at all. However if you want to delete your messages and your backups, you can do all those steps above to do that. If you have any questions regarding this, please let us now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.